NCDD has a lot of people to thank! We rely on the generosity, dedication and cooperation of many different people and groups in order to accomplish our goals, and we are greatful to all of those who are listed on this page - and all of you we neglected to mention.

The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

We'd like to thank the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, without which we would be in a very different place right now. The Hewlett Foundation ? and Terry Amsler, in particular ? had the vision to support the 2002 National Conference on Dialogue & Deliberation, from which the Coalition emerged. The Hewlett Foundation took a risk when they agreed to fund the conference, which was organized by a newly-formed group and directed by someone who had never run a conference before. As if that wasn't risky enough, they then agreed to support our continued efforts for an additional two years. Thank you, Terry, and everyone else at the Hewlett Foundation.

A picture of someone cutting out a peace dove.

The Topsfield Foundation and the Network of Alliances Bridging Race and Ethnicity (NABRE)

NABRE served as our fiscal agent for the conference, and Topsfield has been serving as our fiscal agent for our first two-year grant with Hewlett. NCDD does not yet have non-profit status, and without the help of NABRE and Topsfield, we would not have been able to receive grant funds. Both NABRE and Topsfield served as our fiscal agents because of their relationship with NCDD and the respect they have for our work; in different circumstances, neither of them would have jumped at the chance to have this extra work for very little compensation. Thank you so much, all of you ? but especially Mike Wenger, Muriel Warren, Neville DePass at NABRE, and Martha McCoy and Francine Nichols at Topsfield/Study Circles.

EdGateway and WestEd

After the 2002 conference, it was not clear how we were going to continue our discussions and work on our new projects. Setting up a dozen Yahoo! groups didn't seem adequate. Conference participant Laurie Maak, Online Dialog Producer at Internet Catalyst, made an invaluable suggestion. She worked with a company who provided great discussion software, she said, and NCDD could have its own discussions right off of the NCDD website. EdGateway, a project of WestEd, provides us with the use of their discussion software at no cost to us. EdGateway is a growing community of education organizations sharing a common environment of web-based communication, collaboration, and content management solutions.

Hundreds of messages have been sent, dozens of connections have been made ? all because of EdGateway's generosity, superior design and extraordinary support. A big ?thank you? goes to everyone at EdGateway and WestEd - especially to our contact Venisa Sin. And a very special thank you goes to Laurie Maak.

Extraordinary NCDD Members

All NCDD members are strongly encouraged to become actively involved in an NCDD project, discussion or activity. Many of our members are involved in various projects and discussions. A handful of members, though, have demonstrated extraordinary commitment and dedication to NCDD and its vision.

The following individuals, especially, have gone beyond the call of duty to help NCDD in many different ways. They have led committees, done extraordinary outreach, represented NCDD on major projects, and provided NCDD with indispensible moral and material support.

John Abbe, Sandhi Institute

Paul Alexander, Director of Regis University's Institute on the Common Good

Tom Atlee, President of the Co-Intelligence Institute

Leah Lamb, The Performance Initiative

Tammy Lenski, Lenski Mediation LLC

Laurie Maak, Online Dialog Producer at Internet Catalyst

Linda Mather, President of the Forums Institute for Public Policy

Martha McCoy, Executive Director of the Study Circles Resource Center

Sharda Miller, University of Creation Spirituality

Steve Pyser, Professor at the University of Phoenix, Philadelphia Campus

Brad Rourke, Independent Consultant; formerly with the Harwood Institute

Jim Snow, Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution, George Mason Univ.

Lars Hasselblad Torres, Researcher for AmericaSpeaks

The Members of our Steering Committee and Advisory Board

Paul Alexander, Director of Regis University's Institute on the Common Good

Tom Atlee, President of The Co-Intelligence Institute

Juanita Brown, Co-Founder of the World Caf?

Andy Fluke, Co-Founder and Creative Director, NCDD

Nancy Glock-Grueneich, President, HIGHER EDge

Tonya Gonzalez, Director, The Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Sandy Heierbacher, Co-Founder and NCDD's Convenor

Martha McCoy, Executive Director of the Study Circles Resource Center

Ambassador John McDonald, Chair of the Institute for Multi-Track Diplomacy

David Schoem, Faculty Director of the Michigan Community Scholars Program

Lars Hasselblad Torres, Research Associate for AmericaSpeaks

Libby and Len Traubman, Convenors of the Jewish/Palestinian Living Room Dialogue Group

Rosa Zubizarreta, Fellow at the Co-Intelligence Institute

The People Who Made the 2002 Conference Happen

Photo of Eric Boyd.

Eric Boyd surrounded by evaluation forms at the 2002 conference.

Special thanks go out to all of the members of the 2002 conference Organizing Team, Coalition, Steering Committee and special consultants. All of these folks (over 120 extraordinary people!) are listed in the Conference section of the website. In particular, though, we'd like to thank the 6 committee chairs, all of whom put in many more hours than they had originally expected, and made the conference the success that it was.

Eric F. Boyd, Former Executive Director of Los Angeles Days of Dialogue (Reports & Evaluation Committee)

Paul Gorski, Assistant Director of the Office of Human Relations Programs at the University of Maryland

Picture of Polly Riddims and StrongHeart at the conference.

Polly Riddims and StrongHeart taking a much-needed break at the 2002 conference.

Polly Riddims, Partner, Fusion Partnerships (Logistics and Amenities Committee)

Randy Ross, Program Development Specialist at the New Jersey Office of Bias Crime and Community Relations (Content & Format Committee Co-Chair)

Attica Scott, Executive Director of Knoxville National Conference for Community & Justice (Publicity Committee)

Stacie Walton, M.D., Culture & Health Consulting (Resources Committee)

Additional Thanks

A huge thank you goes to Lucy Perry of InfoVisions for making our new Wiki a reality.


Return to the top of this page...