Search:�
NCDD    Home    Search    Invite    Help    Join Login
 

First DemocracySpace water cooler is October 11
Oct. 8, 2007 6:50 PM - 0 comments
Hey everyone ... I hope you are having a great week. I would like to invite you to our inaugural water cooler session at DemocracySpace.org. It's this Thursday, October 11, at 1 p.m. Eastern.

Each month, we’ll have a live blog session at DemocracySpace where you can meet and mingle with some of the most interesting players in our movement. This Thursday, October 11, our first session will feature a discussion on whether and how citizen engagement can help defuse hot-button issues at election time. Jim Noucas of Portsmouth Listens will be our featured guest. You can get more info here.

Let me know if you’d like to suggest a topic and/or featured guest for a future water cooler session, or if you have news that you’d like to see posted on our blog at DemocracySpace.org. You can leave a comment here or reach me at jfanselow at studycircles dot org.


 

Pleased to meet all of you!
Oct. 3, 2007 12:27 PM - 0 comments
Hello from Boise, Idaho! My name is Julie Fanselow, and I have been working with the Study Circles Resource Center since 2002, mainly writing stories about communities that have successfully used study circles to create positive change.I'll still be writing stories for SCRC, but now I am also managing our new blog, DemocracySpace.org  (As many of you know, SCRC will soon change its name to Everyday Democracy.)

I am posting something on DemSpace pretty much every weekday. We want to highlight stories of and opportunities for public dialogue, deliberation, and action wherever they are happening. So far, I have had posts on study circles in Australia, the DREAM Act, the 50th anniversary of integration at Little Rock Central High School, blogs from Horizons communities (working to fight poverty in the Upper Midwest, Plains, and Northwest), public officials who blog, the controversial new book "The Cult of the Amateur: How Today's Internet is Killing Our Culture," the TV show "Aliens in America," and much more.

We also plan special events - called "water coolers" - about once a month, where you'll be able to ask questions of people involved in citizen engagement. The first one is next week, Thursday, October 11, at 1 p.m. Eastern/noon Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific, right at DemocracySpace.org. Since it is election season, we'll be talking about how citizen engagement has been used to defuse hot-button electoral issues.I welcome your ideas, contributions, and comments.

If you have news, you can send it to me at [email protected]. If you'd like to make a guest post on our blog, let me know, and we will make it happen. Thanks to NCDD for giving us this way to meet and network online.